Coming Up October 30 – November 3


This coming week (Oct30-Nov3) is Campus Equity Week, a national effort designed to shed light on the inequitable conditions that adjunct faculty experience in higher education, and the harmful consequences these working conditions have on both adjunct and full-time faculty as well as our students.
You should have received more information from your division representative this week, but here are the highlights regarding what’s happening on campus next week:
• Full-time and adjunct faculty will wear buttons next MTW (Oct30 to Nov1) that encourage dialogue on campus about working conditions for adjuncts. Please contact your division representative (see below) if you haven’t gotten a button and would like one.
• We will have a table in PUB MTW 9am-1pm that will provide students with information about adjuncts. We’ll also have more buttons at the table if you want to pick one up. If you can volunteer a half hour of your time to help staff this table, please sign up here:…/1x2ZaSaMsWjnntr4uHNmH2f1jen…/edit…
• Please wear your union shirt or a blue shirt on Wednesday, November 1. We’ll be taking a picture with our shirts and buttons outside the FOSS building at 12:30PM that day so please stop by! Please take other pictures with colleagues and students and post them to our Facebook page. Tag @AFTHigherEd in your posts!
• Next week, we’d love to hear about the impact Campus Equity Week had on you. Please send us a short blurb via the Survey Monkey link below. Adjunct faculty: You will be entered to win one of 5 $20 gift cards! The deadline for entries is Thursday, Nov 2.
For a list of talking points to share with others next week, see this pamphlet:…/1FAtja-67mL8bYUujr1SoCh-Sox…/edit…
We’d love if you could be a part of this campus-wide effort to educate our students about what it means to be adjunct faculty.
Thank you!
The SCC Local 1950
Division Representatives:
• Elizabeth Hanson
• Jessica Galan
• Shelby Sleight (pending voter approval)
Social Sciences:
• Laurel Ecke
• Eric Hamako
• Nikki Honey
• Ailsa Kellam (pending voter approval)
• Nirmala Savage (pending voter approval)